In Christianity you just can’t say the “F” word

Sunday At church, the pastor read from Colossians 3. She used an extended metaphor of putting on different “clothing articles,” that were actually different virtues, and “taking off,” certain vices. I admit that I didn’t totally get the metaphor, but the message was very practical. On the ices, she mainly focused on Colossians 3:8,

8But now you must put them all away: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and obscene talk from your mouth

What I thought was interesting about this verse in particular was the ending. I had heard that Jesus proclaimed you shouldn’t “curse,” but I often dismissed this as a little curse, or wishing ill of somebody. I justified say cuss words with the usual Christian crutches, saying it may not beneficial, but it is certainly not harmful, or I would say I was being a Gentile to the Gentiles so to speak and “fitting in,” with them, heck most of the time I just thought it wasn’t that bad. Here’s the click moment for me though, Jesus specifically told us not to do it. Its hard to argue that cuss words don’t fall under the category of ‘obscene talk.’ The pastor went on to discuss in detail cuss words, and other such talk (lude jokes, sarcasm, cutting people down, etc.) and threw out a dagger to my heart in the form of Proverbs 18:21,

21 The tongue has the power of life and death,
and those who love it will eat its fruit.

 

That’s really what hit me and has started a change in me. I am trying to better control my tongue, and I urge you to do the same. The Word makes it pretty clear.

About Jason Vogel

Why hello there! My name is Jason vogel and I am a team member here at Modern Christian Man. I am a 23 year old graduate of the Ohio State University. I am fortunate enough to have earned a degree in Exercise Science from the aforementioned university and am putting it to good use as a personal trainer in Westerville, OH. I work for a small training studio with a Christian owner, allowing me to train in a way that glorifies both God, and the talents he blessed me with. God has given me a passion for fitness, and I intend to use it to His glory.
This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Christianity you just can’t say the “F” word

  1. Nic says:

    I love the ambition behind this. I think that you have an overall strong conviction to be better in every part of your life and I respect that. I would, however, be careful to have such a specific call to action that could be floating a little toward legality. When you quote Jesus as saying you shouldn’t “curse” you are actually putting an English spin on the word. The Greek form, and what was understood in His day, is to actually curse someone or say the Lord’s name in vain. He was talking about calling out of anger against your neighbor. I think that the distinction here is not what exact words come out of your mouth but the heart behind them. If you look at “bad words” one hundred and fifty years ago they would consist of:
    CONFOUND IT
    HANG IT
    DOG-GONE
    GOL-DANG
    GOSH-DARN
    DAD-BURNED
    BLASTED
    DANG- IT
    HOLY MOLEY
    SHITE
    Now it would be silly to start a list of words to just not say because you would need a rule book with you to make sure you always had it right. Similarly, swearing is really rooted in bringing God’s name to validate your claims. I believe based on based on the following passages that your heart level is what determines what you should and should not say.

    James 5:12 – Above all, my brothers and sisters, do not swear—not by heaven or by earth or by anything else. All you need to say is a simple “Yes” or “No.” Otherwise you will be condemned.

    -James is talking about swearing about a verdict you are trying to prove and using God to validate it.

    Matthew 26:74 – 74 Then he began to call down curses, and he swore to them, “I don’t know the man!” Immediately a rooster crowed.

    – Peter is calling down curses on his enemies and then swearing that what he says is true.

    I completely agree that if you struggle with the f word out of anger or calling it out on someone then it falls into a sinful category, however, writing off a word or urging people who don’t struggle with it is not biblical. There is a time and place for everything as Ecclesiastes tells us but in the right context and with an eye on those watching, you can discern for yourself what your heart is in the matter.

    • Jason Vogel says:

      I agree with you Nic. That is at least what I was trying to get across. My point is simply that in the realm of modern ‘curse’ words, it is an exceptionally rare (I.e. I can never think of one) instance where a person has the right heart behind using foul language. I don’t want to fall into works based faith, it legality, however I also believe the everything is permissable but not everything is beneficial verse is over used to justify any number of indulgences that may or may not be in concordence with God’s commands. I am chowing to look at matters of my tongue with the mantra of if it is not beneficial, don’t say it.

  2. Dennis says:

    im so glad i found this little thread, i am an aspiring musician and words are pretty powerful tools. so i also love the ambition behind this. Likee yourself i too have been struggling with how serious a biblical offense is saying a word like F%& . obviously we were raised being told it was obsene in certain settings but many good people use thier good sense on when and where to use it. to me it all depends on the context. i strongly refrain from using it in a direct way to insult someone else, but what if i wanted to say F*&% satan for how badly he has been F(%&ing this world up? in such a context i feel i am justified. i submit to you that i could be wrong and if i am i ask that the Lord Jesus Christ forgives me. i do feel it is equally important to note that after i say it i usually feel sorta guilty. Sincerly, Dennis

    • Mike Bull says:

      Dennis – Thanks for your words. It’s a very interesting subject that we often take for granted and our loose tongues are often something that can deter others who may be seeking Christ. Believe me, it’s an easy thing to throw these words in from time to time in daily speech. I find myself most guilty at work where I really should be ministering even more to un-believers instead of engaging in foul language and corse conversation just to fit in.

Leave a Reply

