Uplifted Spirit

Over the past few months I found myself in a situation of heartbreak. Now I have to preface this with a disclosure; this heartbreak was not a real problem, but an obstacle in my professional life. You see, that obstacle looks a lot bigger when I focus on it but a lot smaller when I realize the significance it has on my life. I do not want to go into detail about this problem because I think it will give you a chance to insert yourself into my story. This was the first time that I really found myself with no control over my situation in a long time. It became really hard for me to be happy with my situation when I felt completely depressed every single day about it. This was not something I could just look beyond, it was in my face every single day. I knew I had to find a solution but that would turn out to take 6 months. In the meantime I knew I needed an escape, if not for my own sanity, for my wife’s.

I found myself praying intently on this issue and I found that to be a great foundation. While attacking that front, Jason turned me on to a book called “Born to Run”. This book is a really great read and I encourage everyone to take a look at it. The reason I mention this book is that it inspired me to take the streets and run. I started out slow, 2 mile runs 3 times a week. I found myself in pain and I realized why never really liked to run in the first place. The problem was, I wanted to get my mind off my issue so I kept going. After a couple of weeks, I started to run at lunch as well as at night. I started to increase my distances as well, running 4 miles at a time. After 4 weeks of this I found myself able to run 6 miles with no problem. This is when I found my solitude, and my escape. I found myself meditating and talking to God, but more importantly, listening. I was able to clear my head and really start to attack the issues in my life and find peace in them. I truly believe that the running is not what did this to me. I found a way to get out of my head and spend time praying and listening to God for more than a couple of minutes at a time. It gave me clarity and purpose as I ran through a tough obstacle in my life.

I am now on the other end of the problem I am facing and able to run upwards of 2 hours at a time. I know that not everyone can go for a run to clear your head and really meditate, but maybe its worth weeks and weeks of discipline to get to a point where you can be completely focused with no distraction. The point is that we all have a need to reconnect with God. This will make you a more powerful warrior for Christ, if you have a chance to strategize with the Master. I found my way to do it, you need to find yours.

About Nic

I am happy to able to bring you Modern Christian Man with my team. We have been friends since middle and elementary school and we are all different in a good way. I live in Chicago and work in the finance realm. I have a passion for the relevant and for the truth, I hope that comes out in the work we are doing here.
This entry was posted in Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

