The Shop

20110912-041553.jpg

Have you ever wondered what it was like to be a man? I know that is a question I have asked myself a lot over the last couple of years. There is a phenomenon sweeping the nation; men loosing their roots and becoming more like a hypoallergenic Bechon. With one of my best friends, I am lucky and have 3, getting married I knew I would fail as a friend if I did not figure out how to find our roots on his journey to find his soul mate.

My family on my mom’s side is quite large and never disappointed for a good party when we all got together. I have 8 aunts and uncles and over 20 cousins who now are having children of their own. I am the third oldest of all the cousins and so my age kind of separated me from the majority of the group. I always looked up to my cousin Chris and Christina, both older than me, and I had a few that where just younger than me. Mitch is the closest to my age of the younger cousins and had aspirations to go on a unique and manly path. He wanted to be a barber with his own shop, and I got to experience that with the wedding party.

Mitch’s shop is one of a kind. He shares it with a salon but do not be confused, this is a barber shop. We were lucky enough to have the place closed off for just us and we had the time of our lives. Mitch is known as one of the few people around Columbus that can deliver a mean straight razor shave. We sat down, enjoyed some Maker’s Mark, which Mitch graciously let us drink out of mason jars, and hung out. He took great care of each of us while creating an atmosphere that any man would feel welcome in. Each one of us got some of the best hair cuts we have ever had and felt amazing after a shave. I knew exactly how my grandpa probably felt on a regular basis when he walked into the local Barber shop and got his hair cut and kicked his feet back for a nice straight razor shave.

Bottom line on the day, we had great fellowship with my friends and my cousin and we felt and acted like men. I would recomend this to any one who lives or travels through Columbus. We are going to look great for the big day on Saturday and it was all thanks to Mitch. So go out and be a man, find a barber and get a shave, you will thank yourself when your done.

20110912-041609.jpg

About Nic

I am happy to able to bring you Modern Christian Man with my team. We have been friends since middle and elementary school and we are all different in a good way. I live in Chicago and work in the finance realm. I have a passion for the relevant and for the truth, I hope that comes out in the work we are doing here.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

