Within and Without

 

Recently through GQ, I have stumbled upon a band that intrigued me. Through the Ipad version of the publication I previewed a song by Washed Out called Amor Fati. This is interesting in itself because Amor Fati is Latin for love of one’s fate, a common expression from latin like Carpe Diem, which means seize the day. So I decided to listen to a couple of the songs on Washed Out’s new album Within and Without.

The overall aura of this album is jazzy electronic and sounds a bit like M83; if I had to compare them. To me the music is soothing in nature and would be perfect for hip background music to your next BBQ or dinner. I have been listening to the album on repeat at work for the past 4 hours and I have to say that I am not tired of it. I am one to like repeating beats that seem to move through the song intermixed with vocals and other sounds. This relaxes me and puts me into focus. My favorite song on the album is definitely Amor Fat. It has an eclectic feel to it that I can’t quite put my finger on. I feel like it would be the perfect song for a snowboarding playlist.

Overall, I think that this album is a good one, I am going to keep an eye on Washed Out to see where they go, but Within and Without is a winner in my book.

About Nic

I am happy to able to bring you Modern Christian Man with my team. We have been friends since middle and elementary school and we are all different in a good way. I live in Chicago and work in the finance realm. I have a passion for the relevant and for the truth, I hope that comes out in the work we are doing here.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

