A Quick Uplifting Passage

It’s football season and I couldn’t be happier. Cool air and lots of hype is in the air. Tonight I travel back home to watch my brother play against my old high school. It always brings back a flood of memories when I attend these games. One memory I had this morning was of my pre-game rituals and things that I “had to do” before kickoff to ensure success.

One of those things was to make sure I had my arm band with all our play signals and calls for that week (yes, I played quarterback). Without this I would not be prepared for the game plan we had for each particular team. Under this sheet though, I kept another important sheet. One that always was there (among others) from high school through college. I took it out of my box of football gear this morning and this is what it read:

Psalms 18:32-36
It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. He makes my feet like the feet of a deer; he enables me to stand on the heights. He trains my hands for battle; my arms can bend a bow of bronze. You give me your shield of victory, and your right hand sustains me; you stoop down to make me great. You broaden the path beneath me, so that my ankles do not turn.

If you’re an athlete or someone looking for motivation, take that with you this weekend and realize how strong we are made in Christ!

~MB

This entry was posted in Daily Study, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

